Premier League Logo

Premier League Asia Trophy

Nanjing & Shanghai
17 & 20 July 2019

The Premier League has a huge following across Asia and we have looked to express our gratitude to our millions of Asian fans by holding a pre-season tournament, the Premier League Asia Trophy, so they can enjoy the excitement of the Premier League in the flesh. 


The tournament has been held on a biennial basis, starting in 2003 in Malaysia, with the most edition taking place in China in 2019. 


Wolverhampton Wanderers won the 2019 Premier League Asia Trophy, beating reigning Premier League champions Manchester City on penalties in the final in Shanghai in July.


Man City, Newcastle United, West Ham United and Wolves competed in the tournament which took place in two locations, Nanjing and Shanghai, giving more fans the opportunity to enjoy the Premier League experience and see a world-class line-up of players and managers.


All four teams played in a double-header at Nanjing Olympic Sports Centre on Wednesday 17 July, followed by the third/fourth place playoff and the final at Shanghai’s Hongkou Stadium on Saturday 20 July.


PL Asia Trophy matches


Wednesday 17 July, Nanjing Olympic Sports Center 
Newcastle 0-4 Wolves
Man City 4-1 West Ham

Saturday 20 July, Hongkou Football Stadium, Shanghai 
Third/fourth place playoff: Newcastle 1-0 West Ham
Final: Wolves 0-0 Man City (3-2 on pens)


All matches were officiated by Premier League match officials as well as local match officials and staged in accordance with Premier League rules.


It was the ninth edition of the tournament and the second to be held in mainland China, after Beijing hosted it in 2009.


As with previous editions, a full programme of football development initiatives were held as part of the Asia Trophy including coach education, referee training and a youth tournament.


See: History of the Premier League Asia Trophy

Latest Asia Trophy News

View More: Latest Asia Trophy News

Latest Asia Trophy Videos

View More: Latest Asia Trophy Videos